For The Consortium

Media Resources and General Information

Media Contacts
Background
NCRR News Releases
CTSAs in the News

Media Contacts

NCRR Contact:

Cindy McConnell
NCRR Communications Director
Ph: (301) 435-0888
Email: mcconnellc@mail.nih.gov

 
Contacts From CTSA-Supported Institutions:
 
Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Michael F. Heller
Manager, Media Relations & Public Affairs
Ph: (718) 430-3101
Email: mheller@aecom.yu.edu

Case Western Reserve University

Christina (Thompson) DeAngelis
Director of Communications
School of Medicine
Ph: (216) 368-3635
Email: christina.a.thompson@case.edu

Children's National Medical Center

Emily Hartman
Senior PR & Marketing Specialist
Ph: (202) 476-4500
Email: ehartman@childrensnational.org

Columbia University

Doug Levy
Executive Director, Communications & Public Affairs
Ph: (212) 305-3900
Email: cumcnews@columbia.edu

Duke University

Doug Stokke
Assistant Vice President, Medical Center News Office
Ph: (919) 660-1304
Email: doug.stokke@duke.edu

Emory University

Elizabeth Pittman Thompson
Director of Communications
Atlanta Clinical & Translational Science Institute
Ph: (404) 727-2579
Email: epthomp@emory.edu

Harvard University

Thomas R.M. Ulrich
Communications Manager
Ph: (617) 432-7808 (direct)
Email: thomas_ulrich@hms.harvard.edu
Harvard Catalyst

Indiana University School of Medicine

Kevin D. Fryling
Communications Specialist
Public and Media Relations, IU School of Medicne
Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute
Ph: (317) 278-0088
Email: kfryling@iupui.edu

Johns Hopkins University

Andrea Lively
Communications Associate
Ph: (410) 502-3296
Email: adlively@jhmi.edu

Mayo Clinic

Ina Parvanova
Ph: (507) 293-3463
Email: parvanova.ina@mayo.edu

Medical University of South Carolina

Randal Davis
SCTR Project Director
Ph: (843) 792-0591
Email: davisra@musc.edu

Northwestern University

Elizabeth Kollross
Associate Director for Communications
Email: e-kollross@northwestern.edu
Ph: (312) 503-2253

Ohio State University

Doug Flowers
Media Relations
Ohio State University Medical Center
Ph: (614) 293-3737
Email: Doug.Flowers@osumc.edu

Oregon Clinical and Translational Research Institute

Christina Elmore
Communications Specialist
Ph: (503) 418-9791
Email: elmorec@ohsu.edu

Pennsylvania State University, Milton S. Hershey Medical Center

Megan Manlove 
Manager, Media Relations and Public Affairs
Ph: (717) 531-8604
Email: mwm18@psu.edu

Scripps Translational Science Institute

Cathy Yarbrough
Ph: (858) 554-5739
Email: yarbrough.cathy@scrippshealth.org

Stanford University

Kris Newby
Communications Manager
Spectrum, Stanford Center for Clinical and Translational Education and Research
Ph: (650) 721-2777 (office)
Email: krisn@stanford.edu

The Rockefeller University

Joseph Bonner
Director of Communications and Public Affairs
Ph: (212) 327-8998
Email: bonnerj@mail.rockefeller.edu

Tufts University

June Wasser
CTSI Administrative Director
Tufts Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Ph: (617) 636-1557
Email: jwasser@tuftsmedicalcenter.org

University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB)

Kristi Lamont Ellis
Interim Director, Media Relations
Ph: (205) 996-5765
Email: kmle@uab.edu

University of California, Davis

Carole Gan
News Service Manager
Ph: (916) 734-9047
Email: carole.gan@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

University of California, Los Angeles

Dale Tate 
Executive Director
Ph: (310) 794-8171
Email: dtate@mednet.ucla.edu

University of California, San Francisco

Maninder Kahlon, PhD
Director, Virtual Home
Clinical & Translational Science Institute
Ph: (415) 514-8060
Email: mini.kahlon@ucsf.edu

University of Chicago Medical Center & the Biological Sciences Division

Tracy E. Loope
Communications Coordinator
Ph: (773) 702-6739
Email: tloope@bsd.uchicago.edu

University of Cincinnati

Dama Kimmon
Assistant Director, University of Cincinnati Academic Health Center
Ph: (513) 558-4519
Email: dama.kimmon@uc.edu

University of Florida

Claire Baralt
Assistant Director, Communications
UF Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Ph: 352-273-8211
Email: cbaralt@ufl.edu

University of Illinois at Chicago

Jeanne Galatzer-Levy, M.S.
Associate Director, Newsbureau
Ph: (312) 996-1583
Email: jgala@uic.edu

University of Iowa

Jennifer Willis
Associate Editor, Institute for Clinical and Translational Science
Ph: (319) 384-8306
Email: jennifer-willis@uiowa.edu

University of Kansas Medical Center

C.J. Janovy 
Director of Communications
Ph: (913) 588-2598
Email: cjanovy@kumc.edu

University of Kentucky

Kristi Lopez 
Director, Medical Campus News Bureau
Ph: (859) 323-6363, ext. 224
Email: kristi.lopez@uky.edu

University of Michigan

Jamie Racklyeft 
Communications Manager
Ph: (734) 998-7693
Email: jracklye@umich.edu

University of Minnesota Twin Cities

Justin Paquette 
Public Relations Manager
Academic Health Center Office of Communications
Ph: (612) 626-7037
Email: jpaquett@umn.edu

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Michelle Maclay
Public Communications Specialist
Ph:(919).843.5365
Email: maclay@med.unc.edu

University of Pennsylvania

Karen Kreeger
Department of Communications
Ph: (215) 349-5658
Email: karen.kreeger@uphs.upenn.edu
www.pennhealth.com/news

University of Pittsburgh

Margaret C. McDonald, Ph.D.
Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Ph: (412) 383-7474
Email: mmcdonald@hs.pitt.edu

University of Rochester

Mark Michaud
Associate Director of Communications
University of Rochester Medical Center
Ph: (585)273-4790
Email: mark_michaud@urmc.rochester.edu

University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Robert Cahill
Senior Media Relations Specialist
Ph: (713) 500-3042
Media Hotline (24/7): (713) 500-3030

University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Will Sansom
Director of News and Information
Ph: (210) 567-2579
Email: sansom@uthscsa.edu

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

Amanda Siegfried
Manager, Research Communications
Ph: (214) 648-3404
Email: amanda.siegfried@utsouthwestern.edu

University of Wisconsin Madison

Dian Land
Science Writer/Quarterly/Editor
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Ph: (608) 261-1034
Email: dj.land@hosp.wisc.edu

Vanderbilt University

Laurie Lebo
VICTR, Research Services Consultant
Phone: 615.322.7344
Fax: 615.936.8545
Email: Laurie.Lebo@vanderbilt.edu

Virginia Commonwealth University

Frances Dumenci
Public Relations Manager
Ph: (804) 828-7701
Email: fdumenci@vcu.edu

Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis

Gwen Ericson
Assistant Director of Research Communication, Medical Public Affairs
Ph: (314) 286-0141
Email: ericsong@wustl.edu


Background

CTSA Progress Report
The first CTSA Progress Report highlights the innovations, collaborations and partnerships that emerged from the CTSA consortium from 2006 through 2008

NCRR CTSA Fact Sheet
Overview of the CTSA Program-prepared by the National Center for Research Resources (NCRR)

 NCRR Reporter Winter/Spring 2011
Articles on gene therapy, testosterone studies in older men, and a cystic fibrosis drug study

NCRR Reporter Winter-Spring 2008
Article on Engaging Communities: How CTSA partnerships are helping bring research advances to people who need them

NCRR Reporter Summer 2007
Article on the CTSA Consortium in the NCRR magazine

CTSA Fact Sheet: Highlights from the 2007 CTSA Grantees

CTSA Fact Sheet: Highlights from the 2006 CTSA Grantees

CTSA e-Newsletter


News Releases

CTSA Consortium Expands to 60
NIH News Release: June 14, 2011

The National Consortium Expands
NIH News Release: July 14, 2010

7 New CTSA Institutions - Expands Consortium to 46
NIH News Release: July 14, 2009

NIH Clinical and Translational Science Consortium Grows to 39 Members
NIH News Release: April 7, 2009

14 New CTSA Insitutions
NIH News Release: May 29, 2008

NIH Expands CTSA Consortium
NIH News Release: September 18, 2007


CTSAs in the News

CTSAs in the News